Nikon-Walkley Photographic Awards 2009

The Nikon-Walkley Photographic Awards are the most prestigious competition for press photographers in Australia. Nikon proudly sponsors awards in five categories including daily life, sport, news and photographic essay.

The coveted 2009 Nikon-Walkley Press Photographer of the Year was awarded to Renee Nowytarger from The Australian, for her body of work which the judges praised as rounded and versatile. Her stand out photograph on an exhausted and forlorn Malcolm Turnbull was singled out for especial praise, along with her emotional coverage of indigenous affairs.


Nikon-Walkley Press Photographer of the year: Renee Nowytarger, The Australian

Daily Life / Feature Photography: Kirk Gilmour, Illawarra Mercury & The Sydney Morning Herald: Batten Down the Boogie Boards

Sport Photography: Phil Hillyard, The Daily Telegraph: Sports Light

News Photography: Justin McManus, The Age & The Sydney Morning Herald: Black Saturday Body

Photographic Essay: Jason South, The Age: Papua Birth

Published by mynikonlife Oct 31, 2013
Categories: Uncategorized