Surfing Australia Celebrate 50 Years

Australia’ surfing community celebrated its champions with Mark Richards and Stephanie Gilmore honoured at the Australian Surfing Awards in Sydney last month.

The Awards marked a significant milestone in Surfing Australia’s history as it celebrated its 50th Anniversary following its formation in 1963 as the Australian Surfriders Association. Over 500 guests attended the gala event. It was an unprecedented gathering of Australian surfing legends from the past 50 years.

The Nikon Surf Photo of the Year gallery at the 2013 Australian Surfing Awards

Peter ‘Joli’ Wilson’s photo of the wave ‘Cloudbreak’ off Fiji during the enormous run of swell in June won the Nikon Surf Photo of the Year and Storm Surfers 3D featuring Ross Clarke-Jones and Tom Carroll was named the Nikon Surf Movie of the Year.

Nikon Australia’s Head of Marketing, Nick Segger, presents Peter ‘Joli’ Wilson with a Nikon D4 for his winning photo.

Peter ‘Joli’ Wilson’s winning photo of ‘Cloudbreak’, Fiji – Nikon Surf Photo of the Year 2013

Check out the Top 20 finalists in the 2013 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year Awards.

‘Storm Surfers’ star, and two times world surfing champion, Tom Carroll, receives a Nikon D800 for winning the Nikon Surf Movie of the Year 2013.

Check out the trailer for the 2013 Nikon Surf Movie of the Year, ‘Storm Surfers’: