2018 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year

The Nikon Surf Photo of the Year is a prestigious award recognising the ‘best of the best’ of Australian Surf Photography. Previous winners have included Leroy Bellet, Ray Collins, Luke Shadbolt, Jon Frank, Peter ‘Joli’ Wilson, Stuart Gibson and Jeremy Wilmotte whose images are published and recognised around the world. The panel of 13 high-profile judges from within the surfing industry are tasked with selecting the winning surfing photo based on a range of strict criteria.

The Nikon Surf Photo of the Year Award will recognise the best single surfing-themed image taken by an Australian in 2017. You’ll need to be an Australian resident to enter, but your photos can be taken anywhere around the world and can be drawn from action, lifestyle/portrait, or scenic photography.

Key dates:

  • Single surfing-themed image taken during the period 1 January 2017 to 31 December 2017
  • Entries close at 5.00pm (AEST) on 8 January 2018
  • Prize winners will be announced in March 2018.

Nikon Surf Photo of the Year 2017 Winner – Luke Shadbolt


Photo taken by Luke Shadbolt


“Shot during the volatile El Nino season of 2016, Maelstrom 1 offers a cursory glimpse of the exchange, cycle and balance of power fundamental to the functioning of our planet and its oceans.” – Luke Shadbolt

Key criteria for entries:

Your photo will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Innovation and creativity
  • Dramatic affect and sensory impact
  • Uniqueness
  • Composition of the photo

This competition is now closed for entries.

You can view the Terms and Conditions for Nikon Surf Photo of the Year by clicking here.